The Battle Hymn of a Doomed Knight at the Hour of Death

I swing my blade
I raise my shield
But it is never enough
The fight is never done
There is always another villain to defeat

And so I ride
To certain death
I know I cannot win
But I am honor bound

The code of chivalry
Defending the weak
Protecting my king
It is my life
And it takes my life

And so I ride
To certain death
I know I cannot win
But I am honor bound

A lesser knight might think to flee
To escape to safe haven
To live free of the code
Free of this life of violence
But I cannot

And so I ride
To certain death
I know I cannot win
But I am honor bound

Why am I fighting this fight I cannot win?
I wonder myself
To save a queen?
If I die I cannot save her
No one can save her

And so I ride
To certain death
I know I cannot win
But I am honor bound

I dream of peace
I dream of my home
I have not been there in so long
My steward writes that all is well
I will never see it again

And so I ride
To certain death
I know I cannot win
But I am honor bound

My muscles ache with the weight of my mail
I just want to lie down
Rest
I never rest
There is always a fight

And so I ride
To certain death
I know I cannot win
But I am honor bound

The castle is in sight
I know what awaits me
I must go on
I cannot turn back
I swore an oath to never turn back

And so I ride
To certain death
I know I cannot win
But I am honor bound

If only I did not believe
Believe in my oath to the realm
Life would be simpler
I would live
An empty life, but a life

And so I ride
To certain death
I know I cannot win
But I am honor bound

I have arrived
It is time

Leave a Reply

