Death Tanka

Inspired by The Dreams of Dragonflies and today’s DS106 Daily Create, I’ve written a few tanka about death…

cover me
close my eyes
i stopped living long ago
i just
didn’t know

I can’t feel the pain
But still vomit and tremble
In numbness

A little bird chirps
Flies off
I watch, waiting

It’s a strange exercise to put yourself in the place of a person about to die. In speculative fiction it isn’t unusual for the hero to *nearly* die and perhaps come to some great realization, find their inner strength, have a Buffy moment.

Angelus: “Now that’s everything, huh? No weapons… No friends… No hope. Take all that away and what’s left?” Buffy: “Me.” (from Becoming, Part II)

But facing certain death, accepting it, that is a headspace I have never written from before. And now that I’ve tried it I’m itching to experiment with it in longer forms.
Leave a Reply

